An Update on the Olympics Boycott

I had a meeting at Jeremy’s school this morning to go over his report card and discuss his placement for next year. I probably haven’t mentioned this before but Jeremy’s on an individual education plan due to language based learning disabilities, so I have several school meetings each year.

I got to the school and this time I looked around for any mention of the Gay-Straight Alliance. I’d been told it was on “the bulletin board”. I noticed several boards by the office but nothing to do with the GSA. I signed in then was directed down a hallway to the room where the teachers were holding reviews, and that’s when I found the board. It’s beside one of the side entrances and contains two 8 1/2 by 11 inch sheets of paper detailing the time and date of the GSA meetings. I was told there was a big rainbow on it. I’m not sure if she was talking about the red and blue stripes on the top of the page or the stripe of rainbow coloured figures running across the centre. Either way, I wouldn’t have noticed them if I hadn’t been looking.

We had our usual review. Jeremy’s good with his hands and loves taking things apart. I found a pile of tiny screws and a circuit board of some type in the bathroom this morning. That’s not a surprise. He’s strong willed, stubborn, and likes being in charge. Also not a surprise.

I asked about the Olympics and got handed a work book, the kind I remember being given on the last day of school before Christmas. Word puzzles, math questions, and a brief history of the Olympics. The puzzles were Olympic themed but they were generic and not from Sochi, so that was fine with both Jeremy and myself. I explained that I have an article for Jeremy to read online called Being Gay in Russia and was told that was okay as well. So he’s going up to the academic resource room for the last period of class over the next two weeks. He’s happy with that so all’s good there.

Then I mentioned I’d found a teen group for Jeremy to attend.

“Oh, that LGBT group he’s been talking about,” the teacher immediately said. “Jeremy’s mentioned it a lot, he seems very excited.”

She then went on to talk about the GSA and how another parent had been trying to find it as well. I commented on how my daughter’s school had posters up everywhere. She looked at me blankly then shrugged.

“We have posters up all over the place too but, what can you do? If the kids aren’t interested and don’t want to join then there’s not much we can do about it.”

All over the place? The school is shaped like a square and I made a point of walking the long way around after the meeting but I didn’t find any more posters. There might have been more on the second floor but I doubt it. Both Jeremy’s teacher and the teacher running the GSA ignored my comments on having more posters. Beyond that there isn’t much I can do. I work full time during the day so don’t have time to come in and run it myself. At least Jeremy’s got the youth group starting tomorrow.

So, for now, I’ll breathe a sigh of relief. We’ll wait until tomorrow to see how his group goes.

One thought on “An Update on the Olympics Boycott

Leave a Reply

