The popular songs…

“Jeremy, you should have a shower before you get dressed.”

Jeremy looked over at me then sighed. “Fine, I guess,” he muttered then he grabbed his portable radio/CD player off the desk.

“What’s that for?” I asked and he rolled his eyes.

“Mom, I need music while I’m in the shower,” he replied then he headed off.

He was back less than five minutes later; bone dry, still in pjs, and obviously irritated.

“Every song on the radio these days is some guy wanting to have sex with some girl and I don’t want to hear it.”

I nodded. “So, what are you going to do?” I asked cautiously. Jeremy’s temper’s been uncertain lately.

“I’m going to listen to my MP3 player,” he announced. He grabbed it off the counter and stomped back toward the bathroom.

A minute later, video game songs blared then Jeremy returned after a while, combing his sopping wet hair.

“You know what I don’t get? Those songs, all the guys just want sex and all the girls just want money.”

“It doesn’t sound like much of a relationship,” I agreed. He nodded.

“It sounds more like prostitution. He’s paying her and she’s giving him sex.”

At least he’s thinking.

And now we’re off to try out the local Japanese restaurant. Miso soup and hot and sour soup are waiting…

Leave a Reply

