I love our church…

That might sound a bit odd, especially since I’m an atheist and have been since my mid-teens, but it’s true. We go to a local Unitarian Universalist congregation and have since Emma and Jeremy were quite small. For the link shy, the church doesn’t follow a religious book, instead it follows the seven principles (which are listed in the previous link). Quite a bit of our congregation consider themselves atheist, agnostic, free thinking, or pagan. We also belong to a welcoming congregation, which is exactly what it sounds like.

Jeremy doesn’t go to church very often these days. He still goes to the Youth Group but there’s an awkward age gap. He’s the oldest youth by about four years and the next oldest boy is 10 years old; basically there’s no one to hang out with. But yesterday he came to church with me.

As we were heading out the door to go home, the Religious Education teacher asked Jeremy if he was helping out at the Spaghetti Dinner and Auction next month, a yearly fundraiser. This year the youths are putting on a murder mystery. Jeremy said sure and was offered his choice of two parts.

The first character is an associate of the auction house owner and is at the auction house on a regular basis. She’s motivated, outgoing, and never shy. The second character is a wealthy collector. He frequents the auction house regularly and always comes away with a good deal. He’s shy, eccentric, and often considered weird.

Jeremy listened intently to both descriptions then looked over to me.

“Mom? I don’t know what to do. I like both characters and I think she’s more like me… other than being a girl. I just don’t know…”

He looked back to the scripts. The RE teacher waited patiently. She’s known Jeremy for years, long enough to know offering him a choice between both genders might be a good idea.

I shrugged. “It doesn’t really matter, just pick the one you like.”

I wasn’t feeling nearly as patient as his teacher. Our ride was waiting in the parking lot for us. I hoped I looked patient at least.

“Okay,” he replied. “I’ll pick the girl.”

The RE teacher smiled. “And hello Sherry Wayburn,” she said as she handed him the information.

Now we’ve got two weeks to sort out an outfit for him. I’m sure whatever outfit he picks will look fabulous.

2 thoughts on “I love our church…

Leave a Reply

