This is new…

Every year since Jeremy was old enough to talk, he’s had huge plans for his birthday. The plans start around Christmas, usually a little before but sometimes a little after. Then the next half a year is spent scaling him down to something affordable.

His biggest party was his 11th birthday. He insisted it had to be something big and memorable because both numbers were the same and that wasn’t going to happen again for a long time. The long time was only eleven years, but since that was his entire lifetime I decided not to argue. That year I had a Build a Bear party for him.

This year he wants to invite two friends Go-Karting at a local indoor activity centre. That’s definitely feasible. They can each get three turns go-karting then come here for dinner and a swim. So all seems to be planned… except for the cake.

Every single year Jeremy has planned something big for his cake. Back in January he saw an ice cream Jaffa cake and loved it but that’s no longer being sold. His next request was a working TARDIS cake, which lead me to inform him I’d made the cake, it was up to him to find out which time and dimension it was in. Even a non-working one is beyond my skills. He had no other suggestions.

I mentioned at work today that I needed to find a cake for Jeremy’s birthday. One middle aged coworker perked right up.

“I know,” she said enthusiastically. “Boob cakes! We used to make them at my old work.”

Even if Jeremy was interested in breasts, I didn’t think that would be an appropriate cake for me to make him. I only shared the latter part with her.

When I got home, I went online and showed Jeremy several videos of cakes being decorated. He wasn’t interested in any of them. Although he was willing to say maybe a pie would be okay. Jeremy doesn’t like pie, other than a peanut butter pudding pie I made a few years ago. I dug out my peanut butter pudding recipe and figured I could make it vegan. He agreed that sounded good but wasn’t enthusiastic. Which means he didn’t really want it.

While I’ve been writing this, I got onto the Silk website and started browsing for any sort of cake recipes. Then I stumbled upon a vanilla bean ice cream recipe which sounded good and remembered how excited Jeremy was about that Jaffa ice cream cake.

“Jeremy?” I called. “I found a recipe for vegan vanilla bean ice cream. If it works, would you like an ice cream cake for your birthday?”

“Yes!!!” he shouted back enthusiastically.

I searched up ice cream cake recipes and came up with an Oreo ice cream cake. Oreos are vegan and if I’m going to make a cake, I want to be able to eat some of it too. Jeremy loves Oreos. He was just as enthusiastic about the cake recipe.

Back in January, we bought a special candle. This is going to be one heck of a cake:

So this is new in two ways. The first being that Jeremy had no idea what cake to have for his birthday, only a month away from the actual occasion. And the second by finding out what cake he wanted while writing this blog entry.

3 thoughts on “This is new…

  1. Pingback: Not exactly a birthday update… | Because I'm Fabulous

Leave a Reply

