Jeremy’s going to starve…

Well not really, although I’m sure he feels like he is. Jeremy and I have opposing views on what constitutes a decent meal. Jeremy’s idea of a decent meal is two boxes of Kraft Dinner, or a tin of canned beef and potatoes, or canned ravioli, or those cup of soups. Preferably followed by a bag of potato chips and a handful of cookies. My idea of a decent meal consists of a home cooked dinner with plenty of fresh veggies followed by fresh fruit and some dark chocolate.

Unfortunately for Jeremy, I’m the one with the paycheque. I’ve been trying to buy him a few treats to scatter throughout the week, including a 1.13kg can of beef ravioli which I figured would last him for a couple of meals. He ate it for a snack. So I’m only buying healthy food now. If you hear moans and wails over the next few weeks, don’t worry, it’s just Jeremy.

I’m also trying to get Jeremy out of the apartment and active.  He spends far too much time parked in front of the computer, which isn’t healthy. He jokes he’s a nerd and doesn’t need exercise but I’ve seen him get winded running to the bus stop right outside our building. That’s not good. A few years ago, he was outside almost constantly but now he won’t go out anywhere without me. My original plan was to take him for a bike ride on one of our wooded trails then I looked at our forecast. Severe thunderstorm watch. We had the same forecast yesterday and ended up with near constant lightning and torrential rain. So we walked to the grocery store instead, taking a detour to go through a nearby green space.

We were walking toward a little bridge when I noticed the man walking toward us. Well, I noticed the baby stroller first and then the man and finally his expression. It wasn’t a happy look, in fact he was glaring. His eyes were aimed to the left of me at Jeremy. I took a quick glance myself and realized Jeremy was doing nothing other than fiddle with his netbook. I figured the man was staring at Jeremy’s hair, which has faded to a pinkish violet, but his gaze was lower. He was almost to us when I realized he was staring at my seventeen year old son’s chest. Granted Jeremy’s a bit busty but that’s downright creepy. Thankfully Jeremy didn’t notice, I’m having a hard enough time getting him out of the house as it is.

It’s calling for sunshine and actual summer weather tomorrow so I’m going to drag Jeremy out for a bike ride. Jeremy’s been asking when we’re going to go back to the ocean (aka Lake Ontario). We can even pack a picnic lunch. With any luck, after a long hot bike ride, Jeremy won’t even notice it’s healthy food 🙂

10 thoughts on “Jeremy’s going to starve…

  1. If he loves to reading, walking or jogging (though not necessarily with hiking) with an audiobook softly playing through a headset could allow him to be nerdy and fit simultaneously 😉

    • Hopefully… and that would cut down on his electronics too. He’s currently heading out with a netbook and a bag full of cords and cables (and who knows what else). Course the step after that is to encourage him to go outside while I’m at work, instead of spending all day alone at home.

  2. And if you think he’s bad, I’ll just drink black coffee for breakfast. (Or, like yesterday, a large coffee and condensed tomato soup straight of the can) 😀

    • I haven’t found any for his age unfortunately; most tend to peter out around 15 years old, unless he wanted to be a counselor (which he doesn’t). I did find him an LGBTQ youth group which he attended regularly for months. That fizzled this spring though. He felt the other youths didn’t like him and were ignoring him. I tried to find out what was going on but got a form letter from the person running the group. With any luck I’ll be able to get him back into the group in the fall.

Leave a Reply

