An Evening of Hope…

I was going to write a blog post last night but I was exhausted and the words just weren’t making any sense so I watched Doctor Who instead. I managed to watch two whole episodes. Jeremy wanted me to watch a third but I figured zie didn’t want me passed out, drooling on zir shoulder, so I went to bed.

On Monday I volunteered to help out at this year’s Evening of Hope. It’s an annual event in our city, remembering LGBTQ people who have died by suicide or murder, and honouring people who have made a difference over the past year. My UU congregation has a button making booth where you can decorate your own button. Jeremy didn’t volunteer, instead I bribed zir to show up with the offer of a chicken or steak dinner. Not that I was extravagant, they were the best steak bits Tim Horton’s had in their warming tray.

Our booth was right beside the bandshell, the closest booth to the washrooms. Which is why I noticed an oversight. I asked who was in charge and got directed to a slightly frazzled looking gentleman on the stage.

“Excuse me? I was wondering if you have gender neutral washrooms this year?”

I was informed both washrooms were, in fact, gender neutral but the person who was supposed to bring posters to cover the male/female signs had forgotten them at home. So I offered to make some and he accepted… probably because he had no idea how bad my drawing skills are…

Just pretend the figure has arms.

Just pretend the figure has arms.

Last year the organizers strung extension cords across the park allowing each booth to set up lights. This year they decided that would be too risky, much to Jeremy’s relief. Zie’d been panicking about the rain and those cords before we even reached the park. Of course that brought about a whole new concern for zir. What would we do for lights? Could they shine a spotlight on us from stage? Could we go back home and get our emergency light? After zie’d asked variations of these questions for several minutes, I decided to give everyone a break and take zir to view the other booths.

It’s a good thing each booth had a roof because the rain started coming down quite heavily. We ran from one both to another, eyeing the free samples and asking questions. Finally we reached Jeremy’s favourite booth, the one offering free cupcakes.

Jeremy and the rainbow cupcake

You can see how hard it was raining by the state of Jeremy’s coat. You can also see zir new sparkly purple tie 🙂

Jeremy headed home as soon as zie finished eating zir cupcake and I got to work making Lenny’s button. Zie’d asked me to design one for zir. Apparently Lenny wasn’t aware of my poor drawing skills either.

I had an idea in mind, sadly just not the artistic ability. However I tried my hardest and was able to make it at least recognizable. My biggest disappointment is that I set the button down on the table to take a picture and there was a leak in the tent… right where I put the button. So my picture ended up with water splatters.

TARDIS pin

It’s a soggy TARDIS on a pride flag!

I was exhausted when I got home. I’d had choir practice on Sunday so I’d gone to bed later than I’d hoped. Then Jeremy woke me at 1am to say zie couldn’t sleep due to anxiety; zir heart was pounding too hard. I woke up at 3am when Jeremy made zirself tea then again at 3:40am when we had a brief power failure; Jeremy started yelling when all the lights went out. There were tears at 4am when Jeremy went into zir room and re-discovered the tea. Jeremy’s second hand Tassimo leaks and it had dripped all over zir netbook. It was fried. Completely and utterly fried.

My alarm went off at 4:45am. Technically. I shut it off at 4:44am as I hadn’t been asleep in well over an hour. All that kept me going that day was Advil and chocolate… and now I was home and ready for bed. I sat down at my netbook for a quick second as Jeremy looked up from zir video game.

“Mom. When I grow up I’m going to cut off my penis.”

“I don’t think that’s a good idea,” I replied, quietly stifling a yawn. “That would be better off happening in surgery with anaesthesia. It would hurt a lot otherwise.”

Jeremy nodded and went back to zir game while I headed off to bed. Later Jeremy angrily told me zie’d said it as a joke because zie was mad at zir video game.

Alrighty then. I’ve joked before about my metaphorical parenting book. Well it’s missing way too many chapters; I have no clue what’s going on.

*throws the book over my shoulder and walks away*

15 thoughts on “An Evening of Hope…

  1. My youngest was in my lap while I was reading this. She saw the cupcake and the button and got excited. I realized it was a good opportunity to talk about zie/zir pronouns and see how well an almost 5 year old could comprehend it. So I explained it to her and I asked whether that made sense? She nodded and replied, “Yes. I want a zir cupcake and a zir button.”

    Not quite, but it was totally adorable.

  2. That is an awesome cupcake. I will have to show that picture to all my cooking-capable friends incessantly until someone makes me rainbow cupcakes. I had a recipe for rainbow jello cake, but I am not even remotely skilled enough to make just regular jello. But it looks awesome too: http://pixiebluesky.blogspot.com/2013/06/rainbow-cake-soap.html
    Note: the picture is NOT cake, it is just the inspiration for it. One of the comments had the recipe.

    (I can’t like rainbows and such publicly, but anonymously online its still irresistible!)

Leave a Reply

