Party time!

Poor Jeremy. Zie absolutely loves parties but has an introvert for a mother so parties don’t happen nearly often enough for zir liking. Then I got an invitation to a Scentsy party. Scentsy, for the 99% of you who have no idea what I’m talking about, is a company that primarily sells electric warmers and scented wax. I’d been to a party a couple of months ago and Jeremy subsequently took about half the wax I bought. A party plus a product Jeremy likes seemed like a winning combination.

I had great plans for the day. We’d stop downtown to pick up lunch for Jeremy and then walk along a lovely creek side trail to the party. Except we ran out the door and left my debit card on the kitchen table… something I discovered while standing in the line for Jeremy’s lunch. Luckily I was able to promise zir food at the party.

Jeremy taking pictures of the early spring buds.

We had a lovely walk, chatting and joking around while Jeremy found us directions on zir phone. I didn’t have the heart to tell zir I’d been there before and knew the way. It wasn’t until we were three blocks away that zie started noticeably limping.

We’d gone shopping a few days earlier and zie’d ended up with blisters from last year’s sandals. I’d bought zir a new pair but a couple of the blisters were rubbing and had gotten worse.

The poor kid was in obvious pain by the time we got to the party but recovered well as soon as zir sandals were off… then zie was set for the party to begin.

The hostess wasn’t nearly ready for Jeremy. Her husband sat on the couch, mostly ignoring us and watching a car show, while all the other guests were female. Last time a couple of guests had brought their husbands but they were barely involved in the party, only occasionally sniffing wax if it was offered to them. She had Jeremy pegged as male and more likely to sit on the couch, talking about engines. Jeremy likes cars but was a lot more interested in the wax. Zie looked over at my clipboard of goodies and immediately wanted to know where zirs was. Much to my relief, the hostess immediately offered zir one.

While Jeremy was underwhelmed by the baskets of wax samples and their accompanying paperwork, zie was more than ready for the rest of the party. The two of us ended up in a massive competition for the Scentsy Diva tiara, a plastic crown which was won and worn by yelling “scentsy diva” any time the word “scentsy” was said. By the end we were just trading it back and forth. And, of course, Jeremy was the final winner, earning a prize and the title of diva. Zie wore the tiara for an extra half hour, just because, and got a few puzzled looks from the husband of the hostess, who seemed confused by a flamboyant teen in a tiara who wanted to chat about cars and computers.

Zie rocked this tiara!

Zie rocked this tiara, later telling zir sister that zie was born to be a princess.

At the end of the party, the hostess offered gifts to anyone who wanted to host a party of their own. Jeremy was shocked that I didn’t immediately jump to host one. Zie’s probably the only person on the planet who’d be surprised. Almost all my friends are online, which doesn’t help in the case of real physical parties. I might surprise Jeremy and have a party anyway as I’ve got a few coworkers who seem interested. One thing’s for certain though, I’ll need to make sure we have a tiara. I’m reasonably sure Jeremy thinks that’s a mandatory Scentsy item. Maybe I can find one in purple.

5 thoughts on “Party time!

  1. Please tell Jeremy I saw the photo where zie is taking photos of spring flowers on Instagram and was struck by how pretty zie looks, and of course the tiara looks fabulous 🙂

Leave a Reply

