All that glitters…

I spent almost three years dithering over what paint to buy for my room. Not constantly of course, but every once in a while I’d look at the plain beige walls and think almost anything would be better. The problem was I couldn’t decide on a colour. I like green, but only certain shades and paint always looks different once it’s dry. Then one night I pondered the possibility of painting my room iridescent and remembered the glitter paint I’d seen at Wal-Mart. Two days later Jeremy and I were painting my room.

painting the wall

Jeremy painting one of my walls.

I settled on turquoise for my walls, green enough to make me happy without worrying it would end up drab or electric lime (feel free to use that as a band name). Then I picked up two cans of Disney Speck-Tacular finish figuring I could use one for my room and save one for Jeremy. I was so naive.

The first thing I noticed was when I opened the can. The reviews say the paint goes on milky. They neglect to mention that the paint looks white and slightly lumpy in the can. My mind went back to Wal-Mart and the other cans on the shelf; chalkboard finish and glow-in-the-dark. It was obviously too pale for any sort of chalkboard effect but definitely pale enough to glow. Had I bought the wrong can? A quick check of the label relieved me in that regard. Did it have the wrong label? Let’s just say my first roll was very hesitant. You can imagine my relief when I saw the lumps were actually bits of glitter.

The second thing I learned is that you only get enough glitter on the roller for one roll; the rest of the roller is clear. Of course like any paint, the roller is saturated when it hits the wall. You can cover quite a bit with one roll in the paint tray. But after that first roll the rest is going to be glitterless (and pointless).

Third… one tiny can does almost a whole wall. So much for a can for each of us. In reality I needed three. I have the master bedroom but it’s not that big, plus one wall consists of mainly my bedroom door and closet (which I didn’t glitter up) while the opposite wall is mostly the sliding glass doors onto my balcony. If you’ve got a typical room with four walls to paint, you might need a fourth can. The cans are $19 each (in Canada) so it gets pricey.

glitter brush

The brush and paint tray looked so pretty.

glitter hand

My fingers looked pretty too.

The fourth was quite irritating as it seemed like most of the glitter stuck to the bottom of the paint tray… which lead to some creative finger painting on my part. I ended up scooping glitter off the tray with my fingers and smearing it across the roller before rolling it on the wall. The glitter ended up in huge chunks which I then smeared around the wall with my fingers (again) until it was all decently spread out. I then used the roller to erase my finger marks. At nineteen dollars a can I wasn’t going to glitter up my Dad’s paint tray (which looks fabulous now despite my best efforts).

I discovered the fifth when we went to buy the third can. Yes, the can says it’s a clear finish. It should say “mostly clear” as the top coat dries a shade darker than the original paint, which means if you don’t paint right to the ceiling and floor, you are going to end up with very visible bands. I did a quick touch up at that point.

On the left is the paint with glitter and top coat, then there's the plain paint and finally the original colour. Courtesy of my laziness as I didn't paint inside the closet. My clothes won't care.

On the left is the paint with glitter and top coat, then there’s the plain paint and finally the original colour. Courtesy of my laziness as I didn’t paint inside the closet. My clothes won’t care.

Finally… my room looks fantastic!!!! The confetti glitter is fairly subtle (well, as subtle as iridescent confetti glitter can get) and looks amazing against the turquoise walls. Several people have commented that it gives my room an under the sea effect so if anyone’s got a hankering for a mermaid room, this is your chance. Luckily for my wallet, Jeremy no longer wants this finish as zie thought it would be metallic pieces of rainbow coloured confetti. So zie’s just painting zir room purple. I’m sure it’ll still look fabulous.

It's so sparkly!

It’s so sparkly!

And it's all finished!

And it’s all finished!

I should add, this is by no means a paid review. As far as I know Disney has no idea whatsoever who I am and, considering Emma was one of the only teens in her high school class who couldn’t name most of the Disney princesses, I figure I’m pretty far down the list of people they’d look at for reviews.

13 thoughts on “All that glitters…

  1. I see your bed is also sparkly (the lights)! The painting sounds pretty difficult but the results very fun!!! I’ve never heard of glitter paint like this before!

  2. Pingback: Jeremy’s fabulous room… | Because I'm Fabulous

  3. Pingback: Disney Glitter Wall Paint | Fashion Your Home

Leave a Reply

