Sand

~ Sand ~

I built my mind on a bed of sand
It shifts when the wind blows
Tumbling
Scattering grains across my cerebellum.

Was my thought always there?
Or had it been a few steps over?
I can’t remember
The sand gives no sign.

The mirrors bend in their frames
Warping my reflection
Tilting
Who’s on the other side?

Grains sift through cracks in the wall
Each piece a boulder
Depending on perspective
Who’s to say mine is more relevant than the ant’s?

I gather my thoughts
Organizing, smoothing, straightening
Gently rocking
And wait for the sand to settle.

moon and water4

Leave a Reply

